Drug trafficking is a serious crime with harsh penalties. If you face drug trafficking charges, you could face years in prison and steep fines. Knowing the laws on drug trafficking and understanding what actions could lead to a conviction is essential.
Missouri laws on drug trafficking
In Missouri, it is illegal to manufacture, sell, deliver or possess with the intent to sell or deliver a controlled substance. This is referred to as first-degree drug trafficking or drug conspiracy.
Types of drugs controlled substances in Missouri
Some of the most common illegal drugs include:
Classification of penalties associated with drug trafficking in Missouri
Drug trafficking is classified as a Class A felony or B under Chapter 195, Drug Regulations, Section 195.222 of the Missouri Revised Statutes. However, this will depend on several factors, including the type of drug, the amount of drug and if the person was attempting to sell or deliver the drugs.
Class a felony offenses
A crime is a Class A felony if it is punishable by imprisonment for 10 to 30 years or life if the amount of drugs involved is:
- More than 30 g of heroin
- More than 150 g of coca leaves
- More than 8 g of a mixture or substance containing a cocaine base
- More than 500 mg of LSD
- More than 30 g of PCP
- More than 4 g of phencyclidine
- More than 30 kg of marijuana
- More than 30 g of methamphetamine or amphetamine
Class b felony offenses
In a Class B felony offense, the term of imprisonment is at least 5 to 15 years or 10-30 years for persistent offenders if the drugs involved are:
- More than 30 g of heroin but less than 90 g
- More than 50 g of coca leaves but less than 450 g
- More than 8 g of a substance containing a cocaine base but less than 24 g
- More than 500 mg but less than 1g of LSD
- More than 30 g but less than 90 g of PCP
- More than 4 g but less than 12 g of phencyclidine
- More than 30 kg but less than 10 kg of marijuana
It is important to note that the penalties for drug trafficking are enhanced if the offense takes place within 2,000 feet of a school, park or daycare center, or if it involves a person under 21 years.